The charming and much loved aware hare,
Ruby Red Shoes is the creation of Australian
author and illustrator, Kate Knapp.

Ruby Red Shoes Series

There are currently three books in the Ruby Red Shoes series, with a fourth on the way.

Beautifully illustrated and charming, Ruby Red Shoes, a very aware hare, is the first book in the Ruby Red Shoes series. Ruby Red Shoes lives in a colourful caravan with her grandmother. Ruby is gentle and kind and cares for all living things, including plants and trees, animals and people. Ruby is also particularly fond of strawberry jam and peppermint tea. Ruby Red Shoes was shortlisted for the 2013 Children's Book Council of Australia Crichton Award for Children's Book Illustration.

Ruby Red Shoes Goes to Paris follows Kate's critically-acclaimed and bestselling debut, Ruby Red Shoes. Ruby and her grandmother Babushka are off to Paris for a holiday! When they arrive they go and meet Babushka's brother, Monsieur Gaspar Galushka, and his grandson, Felix, who becomes Ruby's guide while she is in Paris. Together the two young hares zip around Paris on racy red scooters taking in all of the beautiful sights that Paris has to offer. It is the adventure of a lifetime, filled with memories that Ruby will treasure forever. Ruby Red Shoes Goes to Paris was shortlisted for the 2014 Australian Book Industry Award for Book of the Year for Younger Children, and the 2014 Inaugural Readings Children's Book Prize.

Ruby Red Shoes Goes to London is the third book in the best-selling series. Ruby and her grandmother love to travel and now they are in London, the home of red buses, red telephone boxes and red letter boxes. No wonder Ruby's red shoes feel especially at home in this wonderful city!


The fourth book invites us to celebrate Christmas with Ruby at home, and is due for release in December 2019.

Looking for Ruby Red Shoes books? Click the links to see  where you can find them in your corner of the globe!

New series!

Ruby Red Shoes loves to learn and loves to share!

These four new books for children aged 2–5 years are educational and thought-provoking for little hares.


With lyrical rhyming prose and gorgeous illustrations, these beautiful books are set to be classics.

Learn with Ruby Red Shoes Series | November 2018

The World of Ruby Red Shoes Series | March 2019